For Science… From Science

Scientific Advisory Board

Bob Hodges, PhD. Dir. Program in Biomolecular Structure, University of Colorado at Denver

Bob is the Director of the Program in Biomolecular Structure and a Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics at the University of Colorado, Denver, School of Medicine, where he holds the John Stewart Chair in Peptide Chemistry. In 2002, he won the Vincent Du Vigneaud Award from the American Peptide Society for outstanding achievements in peptide research. He also worked under Dr. Bruce Merrifield, the American biochemist who won the 1984 Nobel Prize in chemistry for the invention of solid phase peptide synthesis. Bob Hodges graduated with his Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the University of Alberta. He is also the former President of the American Peptide Society.

Victor Hruby, PhD. Regents Professor of Chemistry, University of Arizona

Victor is a Regents Professor in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Arizona. Victor’s research has been primarily in the chemistry, conformation-biological activity relationships, molecular mechanisms of information transduction, and of molecular diseases associated with peptide hormones and neurotransmitters. He has published over 1000 articles, reviews, chapters, commentaries, and editorials and has over 25 patents and patent filings. Victor Hruby has received numerous awards and honors, including the Alan E. Pierce Award (now the Merrifield Award) (1993). Victor received his B.S. and M.S. at the University of North Dakota. He then went to Cornell University where he received his Ph.D. with A. T. Blomquist, and then was an Instructor at Cornell University Medical College with Vincent duVigneaud, Nobel Laureate.

Emeritus - Tomi Sawyer, PhD. Distinguished Scientist, Merck & Company

Tomi is an Emeritus member of NEP's Scientific Advisory Board. He is a Distinguished Scientist and Head of Peptide Drug Discovery & Innovative Technologies, Merck & Company. Previously, Tomi has also held R&D management and scientific positions at Aileron Therapeutics (founding Chief Scientific Officer), Pfizer Research Technology Center, ARIAD Pharmaceuticals, Parke-Davis/Warner-Lambert Company, and the Upjohn Company,

Tomi is the recipient of several distinguished awards for drug discovery and innovative technologies, including the Vincent du Vigneaud Award for outstanding achievements in peptide research. He is the inventor of more than 60 issued or filed scientific patents, an author of more than 250 scientific publications, and the founding editor-in-chief of Chemical Biology & Drug Design. Furthermore, he is a former President of the American Peptide Society. Tomi received a Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry, with honors, from Moorhead State University, and a doctoral degree in organic chemistry with distinction from the University of Arizona, working under Victor Hruby, Ph.D.

Ved Srivastava, PhD. Peptide Department Head, GlaxoSmithKline

Ved oversees drug discovery for several peptide-based lead candidates for GlaxoSmithKline. Ved formerly led the peptide chemistry core team at Amylin Pharmaceuticals where he focused on discovery, synthesis, and development of novel peptide hormones for diabetes, obesity, and neuropsychiatric therapies. He also directed the research chemistry team of Psylin Neurosciences, Inc., a biotech company formed as a joint venture between Amylin Pharmaceuticals, Inc. and PshychoGenics, Inc. Ved has over 20 years of experience in the drug discovery area, inflammation and metabolic diseases, with major emphasis in medicinal chemistry, and peptide chemistry. He earned a Ph.D. in organic chemistry from the University of Lucknow, India and had subsequent postdoctoral appointments at the University of Georgia and the University of Colorado Medical School under Dr. John Stewart.


"We have no reason to use any other antibody company at this point! We are very pleased with your work. We realize the difficulty in obtaining high quality phosphorylated antibodies so we desire to stick with NEP. Thank you for your work on this!"
Beth A. PhD - Florida State University